Wind Horse - Tribute to Pauline Oliveros


vr 9 jul '21
Agenda Wind Horse 2
Wanneer Tijd Waar  
vr 9 jul '21 20:00 Vondelkerk Kaartverkoop
Vondelkerk 2011 Ext Annyas
Vondelstraat 120

Concert georganiseerd door het Italian Accordion Academy.

Pauline Oliveros’ Wind Horse, is an open score that looks like a mandala, a geometric configuration of symbols. In various spiritual traditions, mandalas may be employed for focusing attention of practitioners and adepts, as a spiritual guidance tool, as much as in this music piece the mandala constantly reminds the musicians of focusing on several  options while improvising.

Drawing an invisible thread between rational and organic, softness and loudness, pitch and sound,  Oliveros seeks for an instant composition characterised by an idealistic balance.

A sort of tuning of the left and right hemispheres of the brain, into the act of improvising.

In central position, “Listen”, a statement that contains void, emptiness and the fullest sound potential at the same time, that asks for action and inhibition at the same time.
The duration of the performance is approximately one hour.


Pauline Oliveros was an American composeraccordionist and a central figure in the development of post-war experimental and electronic music.

She was a founding member of the San Francisco Tape Music Center in the 1960s, and served as its director. She taught music at Mills College, the University of California San Diego (UCSD), Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Oliveros authored books, formulated new music theories, and investigated new ways to focus attention on music including her concepts of “deep listening” and “sonic awareness”.


The Italian Accordion Academy is a project dedicated to classical accordion, founded and directed by Claudio Jacomucci and Kathleen Delaney and based in Amsterdam.

The aims of the project is the development of new perspectives for the accordion, by performing new music, composing and creating multidisciplinary projects.


featured musicians:
Dario Calderone (doublebass)
Gareth Davis (bass clarinet)
Claudio Jacomucci (accordion)
Ned McGowan (contrabass flute)
Simone Spinaci (guitar, voice)
Valery Barr (accordion)
Lia Ceravolo (accordion)
Inigo Mikeleiz (accordion)
Carlo Sampaolesi (accordion)
Artemis Vavatsika (accordion)
Przemek Woiceichowski (accordion)

Cookie toestemming
Wij gebruiken cookies om uw gebruikerservaring te optimaliseren en het webverkeer te analyseren. De analytische cookies zijn volledig geanonimiseerd en worden niet gedeeld. Lees meer over hoe wij cookies gebruiken. Als u akkoord gaat met ons gebruik van cookies, klikt u op "Ok, ik wil verder".
Functionele cookies: deze cookies zijn nodig voor een goed werkende website
Analytische cookies: deze cookies worden gebruikt om statistieken van de website bij te houden. De analytische cookies zijn volledig geanonimiseerd en worden niet gedeeld. Tevens wordt het laatste octet van het IP-adres automatisch gemaskeerd.